Why he is singing “My Old Kentucky Home”

Well, this time it is my dear husband who has got this deep infatuation with a home that he’s unable to shake.  And with good reason, I admit.  But I’m not so sure Kentucky is where I want to live.  Sure it’s a beautiful state, but we’d be going the wrong direction.  I’m thinking further south and he’s going more north.

This house is pretty special though.  And it has a lot of years left sitting atop its three foot, yes, three foot stone foundation!

Some of the things that intrigue us and are actually on our list of wants are:

A long driveway ~ this one is a half a mile long with fields on either side.  Can’t you just imagine it tree lined!!!?

An old barn on the property ~  this has two very long ones.

High ceilings ~ yep, 10 feet high will do!

At least one fireplace ~  This place offers FIVE!

A creek/pond would be nice ~ Has a small stream

A unique bonus/family room ~ What until you see what this place offers. <sigh>

A bit of land ~  I guess there is some elbow room in 18.5 acres

 

This fabulous house and property has nearly EvErYtHiNg we want!!  But it fails to provide the one pertinent real estate rule:  Location, location, location. Huge <sigh>

Ready to travel back the lane to see this homey 1806 stone fortress named Wake Robin?  Off we go…

 

homes for sale, house 4 sale, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

homes for sale, house 4 sale, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

 

Well, What do you think so far?  Breath taking isn’t it?  Gosh I want to live here!

homes for sale, house 4 sale, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

Isn’t that quirky door near the steps the coolest thing??

homes for sale, house 4 sale, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

In case you are the type who have a hard time visualizing a space with furniture, here is a photo of this room staged.  Makes you want to pack up your things and move in doesn’t it?  Don’t forget a good book to curl up with in front of that fireplace.

homes for sale, house 4 sale, horse, farm, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

Now, you’ll have to use a little imagination for the kitchen.  But, wow, can I see a pretty spectacular one.  That stone wall has already provided some warmth, texture and charm.  I’m dying to get in there and remodel.  As I’m sure my hubby is, as well.

homes for sale, house 4 sale, horse, farm, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

Dining room!  Ample space don’t you think?  I can see the family seated around a nicely aged dining table.

homes for sale, house 4 sale, horse, farm, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

Same room…they just changed it up a bit for showing it.

.

Now upstairs, there is a very generous master bedroom, with fireplace.  Perfect!  And check out those beams that can be exposed just like they’ve already done in the living room.  And the stone walls can also be uncovered!  Wouldn’t this make for a dreamy and enchanting romantic hide away?  Again, <sighing>

homes for sale, house 4 sale, horse, farm, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

The back porch needs a bit of repair.  But I see a wonderful garden just beyond that can be admired on rainy and sunny days alike.  This property is pure bliss!  Oh, and the stone steps and old screen door ~ utterly charming.

homes for sale, house 4 sale, horse, farm, housing, mls, land, buy, for sale, homes, property, real, estate, KY, Danville, Kentucky, Perryville, Centre College, Boyle County

This is the basement beneath the framed portion of the house. Imagine the possibilities!!!  And the memorable times that will be made here.

 

 

As I was writing this and adding photos, I fell more in love with this place.  I can see us living here at Wake Robin. I can Imagine us walking the property and adding flowers and a garden.  I sent an email to my hubby at work telling him so.  I had to smile at his reply.  He described every positive of the place  (sort of like my list at the beginning) and then went on the describe how we could make it our own.  I believe he did not miss a detail. Gosh, it’s great to have a partner who loves what I love ~ Old homes with great bones.

And just as I was scanning through the photos on the realtors site to chose the ones to share, something interesting caught my eye.  Now I’m not really the superstitious type, but the house numbers consist of some lucky ones.  The first two are the day of our anniversary and the second are what we deemed our “lucky number” long ago.  It was the due date of our first born (although he waited another two weeks to arrive), the number of my hospital room was 122, he was 22 inches long, our first apartment number was 220 and our youngest son ended up being born on the due date of the first (the 22nd).  He, too, was 22 inches long.

Oh, and in case you were wondering ~ yes, he ( my husband) was literally singing “My Old Kentucky Home” for days after we stumbled across Wake Robin on an internet search.

If you are as in love with this property as we are and are dying to see more, the realtor has a great video of it.  He even gives a bit of history of the place.  I love his enthusiasm for Wake Robin and I’d likely use him as a realtor if I ever considered buying in that area.  He’s a kindred spirit when it comes to old homes and property.

Here’s the video

At this posting the house was still on the market.  You can get more information about Wake Robin and find out how to contact the realtor HERE.

4 thoughts on “Why he is singing “My Old Kentucky Home”

  1. OMG! Its perfect for you and for us! Robert is drooling…He said he could see and hear Matt singing “Ole Kentucky Home”….so how much??? and yes although it is perfect your travels for the kiddos would be a bit more, but what memories could be made there for sure… Also plenty of room for our truck to park….<3

    1. Howdy Pam. Isn’t it fabulous?!?!?!? I can barely stand to look at another house after seeing this one…they are all so Blah now. They are asking high 300’s. I bit out of our range considering the updating. But gosh, if we could swing it!!! Yep, plenty of parking …we’d likely barely notice it…could even park it in one of the barns! lol

    1. Magically delicious!!! lol It is so perfect!!!!! I just can’t stop imagining myself there. Such the lifestyle I’d love!! Nothing shall EvEr compare. 😦

Leave a Reply

