A secret in Italy ~ Tuscan treasure.

Little did I realize as we packed our bags for Italy the wonderful secret places that would be revealed to us; places I never imagined I’d set my eyes upon in my lifetime.  And in the case of this particular place, one that very few may stumble upon or list as a destination while in Italy.  Well, at least, we’d never heard of it.

Admittedly it has taken me some time to finally get this post complete. I realized the reason for my procrastination was the task of choosing a select few photos to share out of the 400 photos we took on this particular afternoon.  So, I finally decided I would divide it into two posts. The first will focus on the gardens and a few structures within them and the second on the homes and other buildings on the property.

So here’s the story:

It was one of those instances where we had a decisive path set out, but we are suddenly taken off course.  The plan ~ wind our way through Tuscany following a map that listed various wineries.  It started off exactly that way and we arrived at our first vineyard.  Time for our first Italian wine tasting ~ or so we thought.  My hubby pressed the gate buzzer and explained the reason for our visit.  The reply was, “no winery”.  Huh?  We double checked and triple checked our map, the given address, and the address we were sitting at.  They all matched to that awesome looking place behind the big iron gates keeping us out.  IMG_3290

Not to fret!  My husband, being the eagle-eye tourist he is, had spotted a few cars pulling into a parking area just a ways back on the road and suggested we check it out.

While backtracking we snapped these photos.  I love the abundance of photo opportunities Italy provides!   I couldn’t resist sharing them: I’m sure you’ll find some garden landscape ideas in there…

IMG_3294

 

Italy’s gates, gardens and architecture are a feast for a camera lens!

P1000639

 

P1000640

 

When we finally pulled ourselves away from the iron gates and drove back to the spot that provoked curiosity, one lone car sat in front of the building.  My hubby inquired about the place and a gentlemen simply just described it as “a garden”.  There’s not a garden in Italy not worth checking out.  So in we went, after paying an entrance fee of course. The couple from the other vehicle had entered just before us.

I was in one of my “Che sarà sarà” moods and didn’t even bother to refer to the guide map my husband handed to me.  In fact, I think I just jammed it into my back pocket.  We mindlessly entered a large gate, followed a stone drive that headed off to the right and as we strolled along hand in hand, we began chatting about no particular subject.

About five minutes in we stopped to make note that the only thing we had seen were trees, shrubbery of no particular fancy sort and the stone  under our feet.  It came to question if we were going to get our 7  euros each (about $9.59 US) worth out of this stroll. Ah, well, a walk on a slightly cloudy day and with great company was enjoyment enough, so why not continue on.

It was at least another 5 minutes before we got glimpse of a nicely sized pond. . I thought, okay, maybe now we may have something here. It was when we rounded a bend and stepped through some overly sized shrubs that a wonderful garden structure appeared.

IMG_3300

.

IMG_3296

P1000647

 

P1000654

P1000656

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P1000655

This was just the start.  The magic would continue to unfold before us.  Throughout the next four hours, both of us, cameras in hand, glided about in a state of euphoria. We’d often pause, take a deep breath as if to physically absorb the essence of it. Then we’d just smile at one another and shake our heads in amazement. It was too good to be true, it had to be. It was all too much to comprehend. Here we were, in Italy, in a magical garden that had so many secrets to share with us. And it was just the two of us wandering into one garden spot after the other.  It was, for a moment of time, our garden. I hope the photos present you with at least a portion of this garden’s potency to intoxicate. I’ll leave you to enjoying its allurement in quiet reflection.  Let’s take a stroll…

P1000649

 

IMG_3312

 

P1000677

 

P1000680

 

 

P1000681P1000683

 

P1000684

 

P1000685

Grotta del Dio Pan ~ Groto of Pan (Cave of Pan)

P1000660

 

 

IMG_3360

IMG_3361

 

IMG_3374

IMG_3364

 

P1000703P1000704

 

P1000707

 

P1000715

P1000708IMG_3372

 

IMG_3375

 

 

 

IMG_3376

P1000716

IMG_3412

 

IMG_3409

Giardino Spagnolo ~ Spanish Garden

IMG_3384

 

IMG_3380

IMG_3383

 

P1000724

P1000720

 

 

P1000722

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P1000723

Gates into Teatro di Verdura (Green Theater)

P1000739

Green theater with statues of Colombina, Pantalone and Balanzone from 1700.

IMG_3410

 

IMG_3411

 

P1000740

Giardino dei Limoni ~ Lemon Garden

IMG_3400

 

IMG_3402

 

P1000749

 

P1000750

IMG_3401

 

P1000735

“Teatro d’Acqua” ~ Water theater

P1000757

 

P1000769

P1000767

 

IMG_3449

IMG_3447

 

IMG_3457

 

So, I hope you enjoyed your time viewing these special gardens.  But what is this place you may asking.  Well, it is a piece of property outside of Lucca, whose recorded history seems to begin about 1517. Villa Reale Marlia as it is called, was purchased in 1806 by Elisa Baciocchi Bonaparte, sister of Napolean.  She lost possession of the property after the fall of her brother. It was in the hands of several different nobles since that time.  Then in 1942 Count and Countess Pecci-Blunt gained ownership of the property.  Their children now maintain and continue to preserve the property.

In my next blog post you’ll get a glimpse at the fabulous structures on the property.  There shall be character oozing from every photo, I promise.  I shall leave you with this photo, one of my favorite’s taken by my husband, In it you get a glimpse of what is to come.  In fact, I do believe you’ll see it four times. Winking smile  You must look closely…

IMG_3466

 

 

7 thoughts on “A secret in Italy ~ Tuscan treasure.

    1. I hope you are one day able to jAyajade! It is a wonderful place to visit. Once there you’ll wish to return often too…if only in memory. Thanks for stopping by!!

  1. I am too! Made us want to dig for more of these hidden Italian gems! It was an unbelievable day. I sure hope you can some day. I now have directions to it!!! lol

  2. How wonderful to stumble upon such an amazing property! Your pictures are fabulous and the Grotto looks quite ancient, how cool!! Belisimo!

Leave a Reply

