What does Henry Ford museum have that I want?

If you know me, you’ll know there is a host of things from furniture, to historic buildings, to old train cabooses.  (yes, I’d even love to have one of those in my backyard.) that I’d like to take ownership of at the museum in Michigan..

What I’m seeking is not within the museum walls, but is on the Greenfield Village located behind it.  And this particular desired item has its own walls.

It is an early 1600’s stone Cotswold cottage from Chedworth, Gloucestershire, England.  It is utterly charming!

IMG_8105

Did you know the Cotswold cottage can also be called any of the following? ~

  • Storybook Style
  • Hansel and Gretel Cottage
  • Tudor Cottage
  • English Country Cottage
  • Ann Hathaway Cottage

IMG_8092

Comprised of limestone, it is sturdy in construction but elegant in appeal.

IMG_8082

Inside rooms are usually asymmetrically designed.  I like that it throws off my usual symmetrical and balanced ways.  Unfortunately, we did not take many photos.  I believe I was too busy conjuring up the storybook life I could live within it. (I do, however, have a link at the end of this post, where you’ll see more interior photos….but don’t go yet. Open-mouthed smile)

IMG_8075

Like with most old homes, it has the quirky glass.  The view seen through it is always better.  At least, I think so.

. IMG_8067

And there is even glass etched history.

IMG_8076

This casement window (that I couldn’t resist opening) lets the breezes in while we take in the inviting look of the garden and fanciful silo.

IMG_8081

I adore the nearby stone barn’s blue vertical wood elements set against the rugged stone and jagged shingle roof top.

IMG_8083

Keeping with my “I love everything that is old, worn and has a history”, I absolutely love a blacksmith’s shop with all those black iron tools set against a stone wall.

IMG_8094

And, the shop’s atmosphere of creativity.  For me the room itself is an art form..

IMG_8096

I could pick up every one of these structures, place them into some mountainside acreage in the south, and live my life out quite contently.

IMG_8100

See…  I already look at home here.

IMG_8079

I think this place is…

postcard perfect!

IMG_8106

You can read more about how Henry Ford came about bringing the English cottage to the village by clicking here.

Many thanks to the photographer of this series of photos: Matthew Tornow (aka ~ my  dear hubby)

http://ws.amazon.com/widgets/q?rt=tf_cw&ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=US&ID=V20070822%2FUS%2Fthegregarhous-20%2F8010%2F7a5d04a2-94fd-49d6-ae4c-0639e719d7e7&Operation=GetDisplayTemplate Amazon.com Widgets

4 thoughts on “What does Henry Ford museum have that I want?

  1. Hello! Nice to read about Cotswolds and Lucca on your blog. I’m from near Lucca and I live near Chedworth, Gloucestershire, now! 🙂
    It’s a tiny world…

    1. Oh how lucky you are to have lived there!! I just loved that area and miss it tremendously. I felt so at home even though I don’t speak the language. So glad you stopped by and took the time to comment. Comments from readers like you are always a blessing. My hope is to visit England in the next year or so. My husband has visited often for business. Again, I am so glad you stopped in, Sara!

  2. Thank you for today’s mini excape!!! The Cotwald Cottage has always been my favorite at Greenfield Village along with the walled garden along side it. Filled with lovely places to curl up with a book!!! Hits that micoscopic romantic bit of me 🙂

Leave a Reply

